Succession Plan

Radiation Protection and Shielding Division American Nuclear Society

Succession Planning identifies and commits "next-in-line" resources to fill positions on division committees when existing personnel have completed their term.

Consistent with ANS Bylaws and Rules, the Radiation Protection and Shielding Division (RPSD) has 4 officers and 9 executive committee members with staggered three-year terms. The officers are chairman, vice-chairman / chairman-elect, secretary, and treasurer. These officers serve for one-year terms. In addition there are one student member and one international member of the executive committee who serve for 1-year terms. Finally, there are two ex-officio members: the past chairman (with voting rights) and the ANS Board Liaison (without voting rights.)

There are also a number of standing committees of the RPSD which are chaired by RPSD members who are usually not Executive Committee Members.

The vice-chairman always succeeds the chairman. The vice-chairman, secretary and treasurer are elected for 1-year terms and generally nominated only after demonstrating leadership and accomplishment as Executive Committee members or standing committee members / chairs. Successful service as program committee chairman is a particularly highly regarded qualification for future nomination to higher offices.

RPSD has found this succession plan to be successful in the past. RPSD believes that a more formal, longer-term succession plan may not as rapidly reward success / accomplishment. A longer-term succession might also "lock in" someone who is no longer or able to perform at the level required.

For 2009 and possibly beyond, RPSD will have separately competed positions for a student member and an international member of the Executive Committee.