Minutes of the Radiation Protection and Shielding Division Executive Committee Meeting, 14 June 2004, Pittsburgh, PA.

Those Present (Attachment 1):

Hamilton Hunter John Wagner Ray Klann Larry Townsend

David Anderson *NEED LIST FOR THE REST

Nolan Hertel David Court

Opening Remarks by the Chair, David Court

The agenda was introduced.

Secretary's Report (David Court for Andrew Hogdgon)

Andrew Hogdgon was not present. The minutes were reviewed and approved.

Chairman's Report (David Court)

The merit review results for the Division were discussed. The need to document non-meeting publications by members of the division was discussed. The yellow grade in student support should be green as the Division financially supported the student meeting in 2003 at UC Berkeley.

ANS President Foulke's report card for ANS was discussed. Chief issues raised in that report card was the need to strengthen local sections and also to provide a mechanism for younger professionals to be attracted to ANS. The second item created a rather lengthy discussion.

Report from 2004 ANS Student Conference

A University of Wisconsin student delegation reviewed the student meeting held in Madison in 2004.

Vice Chair Report (David Anderson)

The division needs to update its Strategic Plan. In addition, it was encouraged to create a succession plan for its officers. The idea of using the division's website to post items which would complement the bi-annual newsletter was discussed.

Program Committee Report (attachment #2) (David Anderson)

The highly successful meeting, ICRS1O, held in Madeira Island, Portugal in May was reviewed. The meeting was also the 2004 RPSD Topical. The organizers of the ICRS meeting will go to a four-year, rather than a five-year, cycle so the division topical meeting will coincide with it in 2008. The 2008 meeting will be in the U.S.A.

Some concern was voiced as to the status of the 2006 Topical meeting.

Treasurer's Report (John Wagner)

The treasurer, John Wagner, reviewed the financial statements. A discussion of ways to support students to attend ANS National meetings directly by the division was discussed.

Action Item: Dave Court will investigate options for supporting students directly.

New Division Officers

Chair: Dave Anderson Chair-Elect: Ray Klann

Secretary: Andrew Hogdgon Treasurer: John Wagner

Executive Committee Members: Arzu A

Erik Shores Nolan Hertel

STANDING COMMITTEES

Honors and Awards

Bob Roussin received the Rockwell Award at ICRSIO.

David Court assumed the Chair of the Honors and Awards Committee.

Standards

See attachment #3 submitted by W.C. Hopkins.

Membership

No report submitted.

Benchmarks

The SINBAD benchmark database now contains 55 benchmarks. More reviewers are needed by the Joint Benchmark Committee.

Public Policy

Ham – Insert

Old Business

Non-ANS meeting publications – no action

Bylaws – no action

The Web site has been updated.

Electronic votes have been conducted.

New Business

None.

Agenda

Funding of Student Travel.

Young Professional Initiatives.

The meeting adjourned at 6:58 p.m.